Luna and Larry’s Coconut Bliss Ice Cream

Coconut Bliss Chocolate Hazelnut Fudge

NB: I recently found out that Coconut Bliss was bought out by a dairy farm. I believe the owner’s intentions were good, and that this was what they saw as the best way out of a crappy situation, but you can look at their explanation and decide for yourself!

I know I just admitted that ice cream was the thing I miss least about being vegan. However, there are certain situations where ice cream is called for, and it’s important to have a reasonable substitute to the dairy version. In this case, it was the boy’s birthday. After watching him devour a slab of tiramisu three inches thick, following a dinner of spaghetti doused in cooking oil and poorly prepared vegetables (diced, over-cooked asparagus, anyone? Undercooked white mushrooms?) I needed a treat. A treat that did not involve cooking. That’s where ice cream comes in. It’s such a decadent, once-in-a-while dessert, and done properly, it can make or break an evening.

I had tried other soy and coconut milk ice creams before, and found them lacking- either the texture (too processed or with artificial thickeners), or the flavour (just because I’m vegan doesn’t mean I only eat fruit!) was just off. But Luna and Larry have done some kind of wonderful with Coconut Bliss. This stuff reminds me of Baskin Robinns– good, rich, dense, smooth- proper ice cream.

After first seeing it at Planet Organic I was intrigued…. after reading this review, I was compelled… and after PO decided to have a customer appreciation day with a discount on the stuff, I was sold. And I am so glad I was. I would not normally spend money/calories on a dessert- I’d rather spend it on good olives or wine. But this is excellent. Here’s what I recommend:

Coconut Bliss and Brandy (a suggestion, more than a recipe)

1 scoop Coconut Bliss Chocolate Hazelnut Fudge Ice Cream
1 ounce good French brandy

Place ice cream in a tea cup or glass of your choosing. Pour brandy over. Swoon.

2 thoughts on “Luna and Larry’s Coconut Bliss Ice Cream

  1. squeeeeeee! so glad you appreciated the review… I love your write up and MUST get my hands on some of that chocolate hazelnut. Aint’ alcohol and ice cream grand?

  2. Oh yes, it is so very tasty! Like nutella, except better! I’m so glad you posted the review, I wouldn’t have bothered trying it otherwise!
    But yes, brandy+chocolate/ice cream= /zonk

Leave a Reply

