The best laid plans…..

The distinctive Wok Box take-out containerToday was one of those marking-under-deadlines, can’t seem to communicate properly with anyone, too much to do, not enough time days. It was unseasonably warm (10 degrees!), but dark clouds loomed over every commute, and none of my coats are fitting properly, so I have to wear big scarves over them to cover the gaping between buttons on my chest. I hate feeling encumbered.

I spent the early evening learning the routine for the kitties I will be babysitting for over the next few days (more about that soon), and then it was cheap grocery shopping at Save On, a stop over at Planet Organic, and finally I succumbed to the soft yellow coconut curried udon noodles with lemon grass, pineapple, and tofu at Wok Box.

There are more than a few noodle houses in the city, but this is the only one that advertises their ample vegan and gluten-free menu. This is a haven for tired vegans in a city with no vegan chain restaurants, food carts, bakeries- there’s only one vegan restaurant in the entire city– and it’s on the wrong side of the river (yes, it’s the token Buddhist joint.)

Then I called the boy to drive me home in exchange for Amy’s Broccoli Pot Pie and other warm treats.

So, that nearly over-ripe kabocha squash sits on my cluttered kitchen counter, a black splotch forming on one side, while red bell peppers and ginger shrivel slightly in the vegetable cooler. That will have to wait for another day.

Leave a Reply

